Privacy

Information the WAC stores about you

The Washington Alpine Club (WAC) does not use your information for any purpose other than those directly related to club activities.

We do not use tracking cookies or other methods to learn your web browsing habits.

We do not store credit card information. When you make a purchase, the credit card information is sent to either PayPal or Stripe depending on what you select at checkout.

We store your account information (name, address, phone, emergency contact, email address) and the history of all your orders for classes, membership, cabin stays, and products purchased.

Information we share

We do not share your information with any other charities, groups, or companies. We provide credit card and billing information to our credit card processor anytime you make a purchase through the website.

We use MailChimp to send you emails with the club newsletter (The Bulletin). Mailchimp’s privacy policy is here. Every email has an unsubscribe link, and we always respect your unsubscribe request.

Deleting your personal information or account

You can request that WAC removes all your personal information from your account and previous purchases. To request that we remove your personal information, send an email to:

support@washingtonalpineclub.com

You will receive an email which has a link to allow you to confirm the request.

You may choose to delete your account by logging into the WAC website, then access your profile, and click the DELETE button at the bottom of the page.

Once deleted, Washington Alpine Club has no way to retrieve your data. If you delete your account, you will not be able to access any of the member pages of the website. If you later choose to re-join, you will need to pay the new-member initiation fee.

How long we keep your data

We automatically delete your account and all purchase data 7 years after your membership expires or your last payment of fees or purchase.

Once the data and account are deleted, the WAC has no way to retrieve the information. If you re-join the club and create a new account, we will not be able to merge the old information into your new information. You will need to pay the new-member initiation fee.

If you request data deletion or delete your own account as described above, we delete it at that time and do not keep it for 7 years.

Last updated, 29th December 2023